News Flash

Legislative Advocacy

Posted on: December 8, 2023

Stay NJ Taskforce Announced

Woodbridge Mayor John McCormac and Plainfield Mayor Adrian Mapp have been appointed to the Stay New Jersey Task Force, which was established to implement the Stay New Jersey Property Tax Relief Program.

On Monday, December 4, Governor Murphy, Senate President Scutari, and Assembly Speaker Coughlin announced the appointees for the Stay NJ Property Tax Relief Program Taskforce as follows:

  • Deputy Treasurer: Aaron Binder
  • Chief Data Officer for NJDCA: Dr. Christopher Wheeler
  • Chief Policy Advisor to Governor Murphy: Dennis Zeveloff
  • Previous Director of Public Policy for the Senate President: Jessica Cohen
  • Woodbridge Mayor: John McCormac
  • Plainfield Mayor: Adrian Mapp

David Ridolfino, former Director of the Office of Management and Budget will serve as the Executive Director for the Task Force.

The Stay NJ program is designed to provide property tax relief to senior citizens, enabling them to affordably remain in their homes. Key details of the program include:

  • Eligibility: Senior citizens aged 65 and older who own a primary residence in New Jersey.
  • Property Tax Credit: 50% of the property tax due.
  • Income Threshold: Households earning up to $150,000.
  • Maximum Credit: $10,000 per tax year.
  • Distribution: Credits distributed quarterly directly to municipalities.
  • Fund Management: A dedicated Stay NJ account for program funds.

The Task Force will have until May 30, 2024, to submit their recommendations to the Governor and Legislature on how restructure and consolidate various property tax relief programs into one streamline program for seniors through a single application. For more detailed information on the Stay NJ program, please visit our Stay NJ blog post.

Contact: Andrew LaFevre, Legislative Analyst,, 609-695-3481, x116.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Legislative Advocacy

Governor Delivers State FY 2025 Budget

Posted on: February 27, 2024

Update: Affordable Housing Legislation

Posted on: February 23, 2024

Alert: Assembly Appropriations Committee Scheduled to Hear Housing Bill

Posted on: February 3, 2024 | Last Modified on: March 3, 2023

Bills of Interest Signed by Governor

Posted on: January 19, 2024

Craft Brewery Bill Passes Committees

Posted on: January 5, 2024

Regional Court Bill Advances

Posted on: January 5, 2024

Fire Safety Legislation Signed

Posted on: December 22, 2023

General Election Legislation Update

Posted on: June 15, 2023